Start Learning Italian in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

love is a whore

acequick
New in Town

love is a whore

Postby acequick » August 9th, 2010 12:59 pm

Anyone know the translation for this? I was thinking l'amore e' una puttana (or prostituta).

Also, the correct translation for I love someone but they don't love me.

suancho
New in Town

Re: love is a whore

Postby suancho » August 16th, 2010 9:01 pm

To be sure, I am not aware of the expression "love is a whore" in Italian. I would however love to try answering your other question which seems a bit more useful than being able to tell someone love is a whore. (Please take my advice with a large grain of salt as I am relatively new to studying Italian).

My understanding of saying you love someone is that there are two types: 1) romantic/passionate and 2) family/friend
I believe the verb used in the first case (romance/passion) is amare i.e. I love you = "Ti amo."
In the second case the expression is volere bene. I tell my son "Ti voglio bene." Or I ask him "Vuoi bene a tua mamma?"

Here's my best guess at saying I love someone but they don't love me (to finally answer your question).

Voglio bene a qualcuna (donna/ragazza), ma lei non mi vuole bene.

This is of course an attempt at direct translation and probably way off.

Thanks for entertaining my novice answer.

Get 40% OFF
acequick
New in Town

love is a whore

Postby acequick » August 17th, 2010 12:02 pm

Well, I'm sure that love is a whore is probably not the most common expression. Kinda came up with it on the spot. Course over the years there have been songs called Ain't love a b***h and other expletives. Basically my view is love is a whore...it'll screw you every time, meaning it usually doesn't last and one person or the other usually gets the short end of the stick...not to throw another expression in there.